Information on Reckless Driving Laws in Virginia
Virginia, like other states in the United States, has its own set of reckless driving laws. Drivers can be arrested and convicted for driving recklessly when they are traveling at a speed or manner that can endanger the life of a person, cause serious injury such as loss of limb or cause significant damage to property.
Various Traffic Laws Regarding Reckless Driving
The law includes 13 traffic violations that fall under the category of reckless driving. If these are proven, it automatically means an individual was recklessly driving. These laws include the following:
• Driving with faulty brakes or without control of a vehicle per Va. Code Ann. 46.2-853
• Passing unsafely on a curve or hill crest per Va. Code Ann. 46.2-854
• Driving with too many people in the front seat that it interferes with the driver’s view and ability to properly operate the vehicle per Va. Code Ann. 46.2-855
• Passing alongside two vehicles on a road that includes less than three lanes in either direction per Va. Code Ann. 46.2-856
• Driving alongside another vehicle while traveling on a road with a single lane per Va. Code Ann. 46.2-857
• Passing at a railroad crossing on a one-lane road per Va. Code Ann. 46.2-858
• Failing to stop when approaching a school bus that is stopped per Va. Code Ann 46.2-859
• Not properly using turn signals per Va. Code Ann. 46-2.860
• Traveling at an unreasonable speed regardless of traffic conditions and circumstances and ignoring posted speed limit per Va. Code Ann. 46-2.861
• Exceeding the speed limit by at least 20 mph or driving faster than 80 miles per hour per Va. Code Ann. 46-2.862
• Not properly stopping before entering a highway from a side street per Va. Code Ann. 46-2-863
• Racing another vehicle per Va. Code Ann. 46-2.865
• Entering a “HOT” (high occupancy toll) lane while crossing a barrier, buffer or other type of separator
Penalties for Reckless Driving in Virginia
Generally, the penalties one faces for reckless driving in the state of Virginia depend on certain factors. However, it is typically charged as a class 1 misdemeanor and individuals convicted of reckless driving can face as long as six months in jail and possibly a fine of $1,000. If the offense included using a cell phone unlawfully, the individual faces an additional fine of $250.
In addition, the individual can see their driver’s license suspended for up to six months. They can also expect four or six points placed against their driving record. With an offense that includes street racing, the license is suspended for six months to two years and the vehicle may be ordered for forfeiture.
If you are arrested on charges of reckless driving in Virginia, it’s important to speak to a skilled reckless driving attorney in Virginia. It’s your best bet for having the charges against you reduced or even dropped.